BYLAWS OF THE PRESBYTERY OF NEWARK Adopted August 9, 2017

Organization and Mission

- 1. <u>Name and Organizational Structure</u>: The Presbytery of Newark (hereinafter the "Presbytery" or the "Corporation") is a nonprofit Corporation organized and existing under the laws of incorporation of the State of New Jersey under the provisions of the Title 16 Statute.
- <u>Bounds</u>: The Presbytery of Newark is the corporate expression of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) and currently consists of all the churches and teaching elders located in Essex County and parts of Bergen and Hudson Counties, New Jersey that contain the municipalities of Belleville, Bloomfield, Caldwell, Cedar Grove, East Orange, Essex Fells, Fairfield, Glen Ridge, Irvington, Kearny, Livingston, Maplewood, Millburn, Montclair, Newark, North Arlington, North Caldwell, Nutley, Orange, Roseland, South Orange, Upper Montclair, Verona, West Caldwell, and West Orange.
- 3. <u>Tax Status and Purpose</u>: The Presbytery is an organization formed exclusively for religious purposes within the meaning of Section 501©(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended.
- 4. <u>Roll</u>: The roll of the Presbytery shall consist of all teaching elder members and certified Christian educators of the Presbytery and at least one ruling elder from each of the member congregations. Annually, the presbytery shall adopt a plan for determining how many ruling elders each session should elect as commissioners to presbytery, with the goal of achieving numerical parity of teaching elders and ruling elders.
- 5. <u>Standing Rules</u>: The Standing Rules shall delineate the membership, terms, and responsibilities of all elected and appointed bodies of the Presbytery. The Standing Rules may be amended by a two thirds vote of the members present and voting at a stated meeting, or at a special meeting called for such purpose.
- 6. <u>Moderator</u>: The Moderator is elected for a term of one year and presides at all meetings of the Presbytery and is ordinarily installed at the second stated meeting of the calendar year. The Moderator shall also be a member of the Presbytery Vision Accountability Board. The Moderator's term may be extended up to an additional year by a majority vote of the Presbytery.
- 7. <u>Vice-Moderator</u>. The Vice-Moderator is elected for a term of one year and is ordinarily installed at the second stated meeting of the calendar year. The Vice-moderator may preside at meetings of the presbytery at the invitation of the moderator. The Vice-Moderator is a member of the Presbytery Vision Accountability Board. In the event of the Moderators' resignation, death or movement beyond the Presbytery, the Vice-Moderator shall assume the office and serve out the remainder of that term and shall, at the conclusion of that partial term, be eligible to be elected for a full term as moderator.

- 8. <u>Stated Clerk</u>: The Stated Clerk is elected for a three-year term and is eligible for reelection. The Stated Clerk expedites the flow of business, performs such administrative acts as will enable the actions of the Presbytery to be carried out and is the Presbytery's parliamentarian. The Stated Clerk is accountable to the Presbytery through the Presbytery Vision Accountability Board.
- 9. <u>Treasurer</u>: The Treasurer is nominated by the Vision Accountability Board and is approved by the Presbytery for a term not to exceed three years and is eligible for relection. The Treasurer is accountable to the Presbytery through the Presbytery Vision Accountability Board.
- 10. <u>The President of the Corporation</u>: The President of the Corporation is nominated by Vision Accountability Board from its membership and approved by the Presbytery for a term not to exceed three years and is eligible for reelection. The President of the Corporation is accountable to the Presbytery through the Presbytery Vision Accountability Board.
- 11. <u>The Secretary of the Corporation</u>: The Stated Clerk of the Presbytery shall serve as corporate secretary for the Presbytery of Newark.
- 12. <u>Teams, Committees, and Entities</u>: In accordance with the Book of Order of the presbytery will establish teams or committees to fulfill the required functions of the PC(U.S.A.). The Presbytery may create or eliminate additional teams, committees, and entities as it deems appropriate without changing these Bylaws. Provisions for establishing and organizing teams and committees are described in the Standing Rules.
- 13. <u>Vision Accountability Board</u>: The Presbytery delegates the specific authority for long term strategic planning and discernment to the Presbytery Vision Accountability Board. The Vision Accountability Board shall also be the Trustees of the Presbytery of Newark. The Vision Accountability Board shall be comprised of the six (6) members at large, the immediate Past Moderator of the Presbytery, the Moderator of the Presbytery shall serve as the moderator of the Vision Accountability Board. In the case of the absence of the moderator of the Vision Accountability Board, the Vision Accountability Board shall elect a chairperson pro tem. If circumstances prevent the immediate Past Moderator of the Vision Accountability Board of the Vision Accountability Board, the Vision Accountability Board, the Vision Accountability Board shall elect a presbytery from serving as moderator of the Vision Accountability Board. The Vision Accountability Board shall elect a presbyter who is a member of Newark Presbytery to serve as moderator.
- 14. <u>Nominating Committee</u>: The Nominating Committee shall nominate persons to all elected positions except for the Nominating Committee, the Treasurer, the Stated Clerk, the President of Corporation, and the staff of the Presbytery. These elections will follow the process as listed in the Standing Rules.
- 15. <u>Amendments:</u> These bylaws may be amended subject to the laws of the state of New Jersey and the Constitution of the Presbyterian Church (USA) at a meeting of the presbytery by a

two-thirds vote of those members present and voting, provided that the proposed changes shall have been distributed with the docket at least seven days before the meeting.